Tags

, , , , ,

090903-F-239

Image by Lance Cheung via Flickr

I’ve been asked to fill out a customer satisfaction survey by my bank. There are questions about whether I’d complained in the last 12-months and how I rate their service. I think it’s admirable that my bank takes an initiative to find out what I think.

What I find odd though is the amount of information that organisations have on what their customers think that isn’t used.

For example, it’s rare to find an organisation that has mechanisms in place where issues raised in customer complaints are fed back effectively across functions. Customer relations departments produce figures and reports that are circulated to senior executives, but most times this doesn’t lead to action.

I was in a contact centre a few days ago. The rule is that senior team members listen to 5-calls per agent each month. They then give feedback to the agent (something along these lines is common practice in contact centres). There are over 100 agents, so senior team members listen to over 500 calls per month.

Think about it – there is a tremendous amount of information here on what customers think about the company’s service and products. A simple monthly review meeting between the staff completing the call coaching and senior management would be really beneficial. Areas of focus for next month’s call coaching could also be agreed (for example, we are changing a product feature so capture customer comments).

There is a feeling in the company that customers are less satisfied than usual and fingers are being pointed at the contact centre. It was clear, after listening to calls, that recent price changes and perceptions of value for money are being raised  – and are possibly at the root of the issue.

